Grafton wins AFL North Coast premiership

It’s been a classic rags to riches story for the Grafton Tigers.

After recent years finishing as wooden spooners, the Tigers have completed a remarkable turnaround winning the AFL North Coast premiership beating the Sawtell/Toormina Saints by 38 points in their grand final at the Ce.x Coffs International Stadium.

The Tigers won their first premiership since 2012, with the city of Grafton now holding both the AFL North Coast and Group 2 Rugby League titles at the same time.

A five goal to one first half from the Tigers saw them open up a 29-point half-time lead which set them up to win the club’s third AFL North Coast premiership.

Aaron Ashby was awarded the Woodlock Medal for best on ground after kicking four goals for the Tigers.


The Coffs Harbour Breakers capped off a brilliant undefeated season with a 22-point victory against the Northern Beaches Blues to win this year’s premiership flag.

The Breakers won the club’s first women’s premiership after three years in the AFL North Coast women’s competition.

The Breakers headed into the final quarter leading by 14 points, and two goals in the last term saw them hold off a spirited Blues side.

The Breakers’ Emily Conlan was awarded best on ground.


The Nambucca Valley Lions put an exclamation point on a season of dominance with a 43-point win against the Coffs Harbour Breakers to claim the reserves premiership.

The Lion’s grand final victory capped off an undefeated season in the club’s return to senior football for the first time in eight years.

A three goals to none third quarter saw the Lions open up a match winning 32-point lead heading into the final quarter.

The Lions’ Aaron Clarke was awarded best on ground for his stellar work in the ruck.

Under 17’s

The Sawtell/Toormina Saints won their grand final in the same fashion they have through most of their 2020 season – by sheer utter dominance.

The Saints won this year’s flag by 68 points against the Grafton Tigers, a fitting finish to an undefeated season.

A six goal second quarter set up the grand final win for the Saints as they took a commanding 49-point lead into half-time.

Angus Anderson was awarded best on ground for the Saints kicking three goals, while Buckley Jarvis was dominant up forward for the Saints kicking five goals.

Leave a Reply